Q. How do I log in?

A. From the log in screen, enter your e-mail address and password. Your password will be checked first locally on the phone if you've logged into that phone before, and then on the server if you have not.


Q. How do I create a new account?

A. On the Accounts screen, tap the Add button. The add button is in the lower right corner of the screen on both the iPhone and Android apps. Add a nickname for the account (not an account number!), select the account type, enter the starting balance, and hit save.


Q. How do I see my accounts on multiple devices visible by just me?

A. Download CheckShare onto each device, and sign into CheckShare with the same e-mail address and password on each device.


Q. How do I share my accounts to be seen by others?

A. There are two steps for sharing an account.


First, each user needs to download CheckShare onto their phone, and sign in using their e-mail and password.


Second, on first phone, create an account and save it. After saving the account, on the Details tab, select the Add button ("Add" on iPhone, or "+" on Android), enter the e-mail address of the person you want to share with, and save the share. If you get the e-mail address wrong, CheckShare will tell you that e-mail does not exist.


Go back to the second phone. On the Accounts screen, hit the refresh button. On the iPhone, it's the circular arrow button second from the right on the top toolbar. On Android, it's the same circular arrow button second from the right on the bottom toolbar.


Q. How do I mark a transaction as reconciled or cleared?

A. You can mark a transaction as cleared or reconciled one of two ways. First, you can edit the transaction, and change the status. Or second, from the list of transactions on an account, you can touch-and-hold on the transaction until a popup menu appears, allowing you to mark the transaction as either cleared or reconciled.


Q. Can I hide cleared or reconciled transactions?

A. Yes. To hide cleared or reconciled transactions, go to the settings screen and uncheck (on Android) or switch to off (on iPhone), the "Show Reconciled Transactions" or "Show Cleared Transactions" setting.


Q. How do I back up my data?

A. Because of our syncing technology, you don't need to back up your data. As you use the app, we are keeping a backup copy for you. If something happens (you lose your phone, get a new phone, etc.), just reload CheckShare, and sign in with the same e-mail and password. CheckShare will then download and sync your accounts and transactions.


Q. Do you have plans for a web version?

A. We have considered this, but at this time we'd rather put our energy into improving the app.


Q. How can I get a new feature I must have added to CheckShare?

A. We admit it, we haven't thought of everything. If you have an idea of how to make the app better, please contact us.